In The News

News Details - CRC Austin

News Archive

Head Line Three New Board Members Announced at CRC’s 26th Annual Membership Meeting

Austin, Minn. – Cooperative Response Center, Inc. (CRC) announces the results of its recent Board of Directors election following its 26th annual membership meeting held Sunday, June 30, in New York City, N.Y. Pre-meeting elections selected the directors to serve as part of CRC’s nine-member board.

Two new board members were elected to CRC’s district 1 seats. Scott Peters, CEO at Columbia Rural Electric Association in Walla Walla, Wash., was elected to a three-year term and Kelly Hovel, general manager at Goodhue County Cooperative Electric Association in Zumbrota, Minn., was elected to an open board seat for a one-year term.

In district 3, Randy Crenshaw, general manager at Irwin EMC in Ocilla, Ga., and Middle Georgie EMC in Vienna, Ga., was re-elected to his board seat. This is Crenshaw’s second term on CRC’s board.

Three candidates ran for a recently vacated at-large seat. The results revealed that Rod Cotton, general manager at Farmers’ Electric Cooperative, Inc., in Chillicothe, Mo., was elected to the seat for a three-year term.

Two outgoing board members were recognized at the annual membership meeting. Brenda Swartzlander, president and CEO at United Electric Cooperative in DuBois, Pa., and chairwoman of CRC’s board, served on the board for 13 years and had met her board seat’s term limit.

Larry Dokkestul, president and CEO at Pierce-Pepin Cooperative Services in Ellsworth, Wis., served on CRC’s board for three years and will soon retire from his utility, choosing not to run for re-election. Many thanks to both Swartzlander and Dokkestul for their years of dedicated service to CRC.

After the annual meeting, CRC’s Board of Directors met and selected the following officers to serve on its executive committee:

Chairman – Neil Hesse, general manager of PenTex Energy in Muenster, Texas, leads a 16,000-meter electric cooperative that operates in five counties in northeastern Texas. Hesse has served as board vice chair since 2014.This is his first year serving as chairman.

Vice Chairman – Tom Harrell, CEO at Alger Delta Cooperative Electric Association in Gladstone, Mich., leads a 10,000-member electric cooperative that operates in six counties in Michigan’s central Upper Peninsula. This is Harrell’s first year serving as vice chairman.

Secretary – Larry Fenbers, general manager/CEO of Carroll Electric Cooperative, Inc., in Carrollton, Ohio, leads a 12,000-consumer electric cooperative that operates in six eastern Ohio counties. Fenbers has served as board secretary since 2014.

Treasurer – Kevin Murphy, president of Southwest Tennessee EMC in Brownsville, Tenn., leads a 51,000-meter electric cooperative that operates in southwestern Tennessee. Murphy has served as board treasurer since March 2019.

About CRC
CRC is a nationwide, cooperatively owned and operated, 24/7 contact center and alarm monitoring center. Founded in 1992, CRC has steadily increased the size and scope of its operation with offices in Austin, Dunlap, Tenn., and Abilene, Texas. CRC serves over 485 members and associate members in 46 states, representing nearly 9.9 million consumers. Visit CRC on the web at

CRC Mobile Footer Graphic

Contact Us
Cooperative Response Center, Inc.
2000 8th Street NW
Austin, MN 55912

Copyright 2013 Cooperative Response Center, Inc.